Baseball Hall Of Fame Dedication

Copyright 2017, J. David Goldin

These are all the examples of this program in the radioGOLDINdex database. These listings are accurate as of October 29, 2017. The programs are listed chronologically, partial dates appear first, unknown dates appear last.

110784. Baseball Hall Of Fame Dedication. June 12, 1939. Blue Network. Sustaining. 12:15 P.M. A broadcast from Cooperstown, New Yok, on the 100th anniversary of Abner Doubleday's setting down the rules of baseball. The ribbon is cut (by baseball commissioner Kenesaw "Mountain" Landis) and the Baseball Museum is officially opened. Thirteen "Pioneers of Baseball" have their names read, while a nearby band incessantly plays, "Take Me Out To The Ballgame." Connie Mack (one of the "thirteen") speaks, Honus Wagner speaks and gets a standing ovation. Other baseball greats are heard. Kyle Manning (announcer), Charles Doyle (m.c.), Roland Spraeger (? mayor of Cooperstown), John Heydler (former president of the National League), Kenesaw Mountain Landis, Ford Frick, William Harridge, Connie Mack, Honus Wagner, Tris Speaker, Larry Lajoie, Cy Young, Walter Johnson, George Sisler, Eddie Collins, Grover Cleveland Alexander, Babe Ruth. 28:30. Audio condition: Excellent. Apparently complete.

Report contains 1 programs.